Merry Christmas!

Christmas snowAs the final hours of Christmas slip away, I wish all of you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

“I’m Dreaming of a White Christmas” is an iconic Christmas song and it echoes my personal mantra,

“There should always be snow for Christmas.”

But we had no snow for Christmas. Actually, when I was outside yesterday I saw flowers peeking their heads through the soil. That is not supposed to happen in winter!

Well, I slept over at my parent’s house last night and got up this morning so I could get a short ride in before everyone else woke up.

My ride had one objective: to find snow for Christmas.

I had heard rumors that snow still existed to the Southwest, so I headed in that direction, hoping to find a few patches of white.

And guess what? I did. I found snow. Real live snow. It wasn’t much and it wasn’t pretty, but I was happy anyway. Mission accomplished, we were going to have a white Christmas after all.

I filled my pannier with snowballs and a mini snowman before returning to my parent’s house.

Christmas snowman

Mini Snowman

 

dying snowman

Turns out that snowmen do not survive well as table centerpieces…

Once home, I woke up my brothers by throwing snowballs at them while singing “We Wish You a Merry Christmas”. I am such a mature older sister!

snowballs

Good morning, dear brothers!

 

I had a wonderful day with my family. We opened presents, ate lots of food and most importantly celebrated that Jesus was born.

That’s even more important than having a white Christmas.

 

8 thoughts on “Merry Christmas!

  1. Wait did you throw the snowballs at them while they were in bed? If so reminds of when ice cold water was used to wake me before school one morning of my youth. Glad you had a Merry Christmas.

    Like

  2. It’s 8 am and it’s 32°F … and I’m in California … But no snow yet … However on my drive home, thru the mountain pass, there was remnants of snow … So it’s ironic that I saw more snow than you did.

    Like

Leave a comment