Where did Febuary go?

sap buckets

I saw the first tapped trees today. So either spring is here or the maple producers are as confused as the rest of us.

“Leap Day”, despite being such a rare day and all, did not turn out to be very exciting. In fact, it seemed like any other Monday and even worse. My workday dragged on and on, and without even realizing it I had become a grump. The wind was out in full force and I knew it would be fighting me all the way home so I had already come to the conclusion that it would be a miserable ride.

Finally my shift was over and I walked out the door with aching legs and a tired body. Usually I can’t wait to hop on my bike and pedal home, but yesterday I really did not feel up to the task. But I told myself that I could go as slow as I needed to and eventually I would make it through the howling winds.

But as I started down the road I slowly began to realize…
I was not tired.
My legs had stopped aching.
The wind had died down.
And it was a beautiful day.

For the first time in several hours I could feel a genuine smile spread across my face. Sometimes I forget how reinvigorating a bike ride can be!

And now a new month has arrived and I haven’t the slightest clue how it will play out. It could be cold and snowy or unseasonably mild like the rest of the winter has been. I have high hopes for a few more nice snowstorms but either way I am excited, I can’t believe spring is just around the corner.ice footprints

I reached 1,100 miles for the year today and I am aiming to have as many adventures on my bike this month as I can, I would love to get 700 miles in by the end of March.

One of the best things about biking in March is the Errandonnee! It begins this Friday and I am hoping I can pull off the required 12 errands in 12 days. It will be fun reading about everyone’s errand adventures, whether they bike, run or do both.

 

15 thoughts on “Where did Febuary go?

  1. That’s freakishly amazing. 1,100 miles already this year?? I don’t even know what to say….That’s a lot of riding. I did my first ride of the year yesterday. 15 miles. Hmm..

    Like

      • Well, that’s a matter of perspective. Because I’m not a stupid sheep, I live in a low tax town and have an office in a high tax town (work where the money is). This means I have a 40 mile one-way commute on roads with snow up to my AWD SUV’s frame – and it’s payroll day so I have to be at the office today. It’s gonna be a fun day.

        Like

      • BTW Bri, I just got to the office and got to thinking my last comment could have been phrased better. Please don’t get the idea that it had anything to do with you or your comment, it was just a statement of fact about my choices.

        Like

      • Hey, it’s all good! I hear you, snow would be frustrating under those conditions. I am thankful that I basically just get to “play in the snow” but I know that it is a headache for vehicles out on the road. I hope the skies are clear and the roads are all plowed for you coming home, 80 miles in a snowstorm is not fun!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Actually you described it perfectly! I can’t believe it! The sun is out and the roads are beautiful. It’s still WAY cold, but I can live with that. πŸ˜‰

        Like

  2. “…I can’t believe spring is just around the corner.”

    I can’t believe it either! Thanks for the exciting news. It must be around the corner of one of the Ji-Pa streets I haven’t walked down yet, though. Please tell me which one so I can go there tomorrow. Spring is my favorite. Except for you. You are more favorite. Can you be just around the corner tomorrow?

    Like

    • Well, kid, this is my hemisphere, you have your own hemisphere, where spring is not around the corner but around many corners. You are gonna be walking for awhile! I wish I could be around the corner, but alas, I am not. I can send you a hug though.
      Here you go!

      Like

Leave a Reply

