What would Mary ride?

Tonight, my big sis and I played the role of Mary in a community nativity. It was a lot of fun, but I must admit, it has been a long day. And for part of that day I was wearing a baby belly and walking around on tiny sandals. My back is not very happy right now. (To all the moms out there I have new respect for you!)

After getting home from work I only had a bit of time to take care of my dogs, shower and scurry back out the door. As I was pulling out of my yard, something on my bike just didn’t feel right.

DSC01895

I do love my studded tires, but one pair is enough in this house!

 

A flat tire? Really? Now of all times?

Of course, I don’t have spare tubes to fit the huge tires of my MTB (sheepish grin) so I had to repair the flat as fast as I could (new record-13 minutes). It might not have been the best quality job but as of now the tire is still at full pressure.

I made it up to where the nativity was being held, without being much later than the other cast members. The animals were brought in and I wondered…

…if Mary had a choice would she have rode a donkey or a bike to Bethlehem?

DSC01908

DSC01882

After all, the account in Luke never mentions the mode of transportation, it just states that Joseph and Mary “went up” from Nazareth to Bethlehem.

If I were in Mary’s shoes, I might pick the donkey, I don’t think they get flats.

13 thoughts on “What would Mary ride?

  1. That’s a good look’n nail. No fussing with tubs of water looking for bubbles to find that leak. 13 minutes! Nice work. I think Mary can do what Mary wants. Probably get beamed to Bethlehem if she so chose.

    Like

    • I try to keep flats exciting (is it legal to use the words “flat” and “exciting” together?) by timing how long it takes me and seeing if I can beat my record…sadly I have had a lot of practice this year!

      Wow, if Mary could choose to use teleportation to travel, I am sure she never would have even given a donkey or a bike a second glance!

      Like

      • They did leave Bethlehem quickly with Herod after them so my guess is that they scrambled out of town on a couple of down hill racing bikes…

        Like

      • They probably did! Herod’s soldiers, even on horse back, would have been no match for a couple of speedy racing bikes. (One problem with your theory is the road conditions, I am thinking those ancient roads would be rough to navigate on skinny tires!)

        Like

      • Down hill racing bikes-like an MTB with fat tyres etc-ideal for the terrain & speed to evade the soldiers…

        Like

      • Actually, I had an exciting time on the Erie Canal changing a couple flats. People stop to talk, ask if they can help, ask questions etc. And sometimes the leak is not so obvious, so, it takes detective work to find it.

        Like

Leave a Reply

