Where’s the snow?

Before going to bed last night, I checked the weather forecast.

The prediction:
Snow!

When I woke up this morning the first thing I did was look out the window to see if a layer of the magical stuff was already covering the ground. But all I saw was fallen leaves and dying grass.

I checked the weather again and found out that snow would soon be on its way. To get me in the Christmas spirit, I turned on Handel’s Messiah and cleaned my kitchen.

Although not as exciting as the falling of snow, two items that I ordered on Cyber Monday arrived; a pair of Craft Storm Tights and winter boots from Baffin. I was so nervous unpacking them and trying them on, what if I didn’t like them or they didn’t fit right?

I tried on the pants first and halleluiah, not only was the size right but they feel really comfortable. Hopefully it will get cold enough for me to try them out on my bike soon. I think they will prove to be quite an upgrade from wearing layers of pants underneath rain pants like I did last winter! I love how fitted they are through the leg, I won’t have to worry about them tangling with the bike’s gears.

The boots fit nicely as well and seem really well insulated, I can’t wait to see how they hold up in sub zero weather.

DSC01894

These guys are ready to tackle some serious weather, if we ever get any…

 

Noon came and went: still no snow. By midafternoon I gave up on waiting for the snow and went out for a short ride.

Now it is evening and none of the forecasted snow has decided to make an appearance in real life. I am sad. It’s December, I want snow!

But I guess half of the excitement of winter is that you never know what will happen. Maybe there is a snowstorm out there that is just about to pounce.

25 thoughts on “Where’s the snow?

  1. I wanted to click “Like” but I couldn’t bring myself to do that with all the talk of cold and snow. I ride in the cold every year but really can’t say that I like to.

    Like

    • You are so rude! Winter is most likely very offended by your comment. What if winter is so offended that we never see snow again in the Northeast? Don’t you want a white Christmas? At least for the sake of the children?

      Like

      • Well, that argument failed spectacularly, oops! I do hope you a have a wonderful Christmas even though I am sure it will be very green indeed πŸ™‚

        Like

  2. There you go again with this silly talk of liking snow and cold. I think we, your followers here, need to set up a fund for a counsellor. I wonder if gofundme would work? Then again, at this point, I’d ride in just about anything!!

    Like

  3. I like the sleek cycling boots πŸ™‚ I just purchased a similar pair of lined tights from MEC. I have been cycling in them all week. What a difference. Cozy and warm! Have fun in the snow (I know you will). I think I may be done with the really cold weather in these parts. Just rain and winter winds to look forward to.

    Like

  4. sweet cycling boots

    I do not ride in the snow on my skinny tire road bike.. but hoping soon to get a cross bike or a mtb that i can put some nice wider tires and ride year round down the road. also depending where my next job will be

    ps thanks for the food place i will check it out, when i visit the cheese factory near by too next summer!

    Like

      • Maybe CX bike is in order for snow? Too bad you didn’t get as forecasted by the weather folks … but then again, they are “predicting” weather .. since when have we been able to rely on them?

        Like

  5. Snow is why ‘they’ invented spinning classes. I just pumped out an hour spin class, maybe 600 calories, sweat my butt off and no, it’s not the same as outdoors, but it works.

    Like

  6. “Hopefully it will get cold enough for me to try them out” … “I can’t wait to see how they hold up in sub zero weather.” πŸ˜€

    Now, Handel’s Messiah was what was missing while I was mopping my kitchen floor yesterday – thanks for that πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

