A time to slow down.

002After buying a road bike this May, I have learned just how fun going fast can be-flying down hills, whizzing around corners, racing tractors and sprinting until my heart is pounding. But soon I will be switching over to my new mountain bike, which is rugged and capable, but not nearly so fast. It will be sad to leave to retire my speedy steed of summer, but the truth is, winter biking (at least for me) is all about taking it nice and slow. It is amazing how many times taking the speed down a notch makes winter biking easier and more enjoyable.

When work has been hard and my energy is waning with the setting sun,
I slow down.
When the beauty of a clear night sky takes my breath away,
I slow down.
When I have overdressed and start to sweat,
I slow down.
When everywhere I look is glittering, sparkling snow,
I slow down.
When my ski goggles are fogging up from my huffing and puffing,
I slow down.
When I am mesmerized by a thousand snowflakes floating gently to earth,
I slow down.
When I am wrapped in warm clothes from head to toe like a mummy,
I slow down.
When the wind howls against me,
I slow down.
When the wind howls against me
and I am biking through deep snow,
I slow down.
When the wind howls against me,
and I am biking through deep snow,
up a never-ending hill,
I slow down.
When the wind howls against me,
and I am biking through deep snow,
up a never-ending hill,
while coughing and wheezing like an old mountain goat,
I slow down.
Way down.

Yes, I bike slow in winter. Slow enough to make it possible for elderly snails to leave me in the dust (thank goodness there are not to many snails out and about in the cold). But like the hare and tortoise learned long ago, “slow and steady wins the race”. That is especially true in winter.

Wait a second…

If the tortoise and hare had raced in the winter, the hare would have won because the tortoise would have gone into hibernation. Maybe I have followed the example of the wrong animal! This year, should I switch to short, sporadic sprints with long breaks of rest in-between? A hare surely knows more about how to deal with winter than a tortoise….

This post is the third post of the 5 day story challenge. Gary, from PedalWORKS was kind enough to nominate me for this challenge and he wanted to read more about cycling in snow and cold.

In lieu of nominating someone everyday of this challenge, I am inviting anyone to post about a weird or funny bike ride that for some reason hasn’t made it on your blog yet. I would love to read them. Let me know about it and I will link you in my successive story challenge posts.

4 thoughts on “A time to slow down.

  1. Winter is also the “off season” a time for all the knarly racer dudes to ease up. Oh wait a minute .. that’s my opportunity to catch up with them. If only I were that fit, though … LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

