A day on my bike.

DSC00855My day was free of commitments and in a wondrous twist of magic, the weather turned out perfect. I simply had to go for a nice, long, meandering bike ride. My destination was chosen, a state park that I had never visited before, but I brought a paper map with me so I could go down roads at whim and still end up at the park.

I have only ever biked in my immediate local area, so the majority of the routes that I take, I know rather well. But today I was able to bike many miles of road that I have never seen before. It became a proper adventure.

As a Christian, I can’t help but see the beauty of the world as an extension of the glory of God. Today I saw His handiwork everywhere and it made me gasp in delight. Forests stretching as far as I could see, hawks soaring through the air, deer bounding through corn fields, the gurgle of happy streams, lazy cows chewing stalks of grass; so many lovely things! Is there a better way to explore the world than on a bicycle? If there is, please don’t tell me, I refuse to change my mind anyway!

Eventually, I arrived at the state park and found out it has only one attraction. But what a wonderful thing it is; a roaring waterfall of decent size and strength. (I have been to Niagara and Horseshoe Falls, they have spoiled me, I suppose.) I ate lunch by the waterfall, made friends with a toad, hid my bike so I could walk down a wooded trail and then packed up to head home.DSC00871DSC00860

There was a headwind to deal with on the way back but I was in no rush so I took my time. But after an hour I was hot and my body was starting to feel the strain of biking all day. I made an executive decision – it was time for an ice cream break. Mint chocolate chip in a waffle cone was just what I needed to boost my energy and cool me down. The power of ice cream got me home in no time.

6 thoughts on “A day on my bike.

  1. Beautiful falls. It’s funny how we notice things on a bicycle that we don’t see while in a car. We’re passing everything so quickly that we don’t take the time to “smell the roses” so to speak.

    Like

  2. Psalms 19:1; Romans 1:20 I’m envious! In addition to working my regular jewelry job, both last week and this week I’m working 40 hours at the group home. I’ve not had the time nor energy to ride like that. I miss my early morning long commutes!

    Like

    • Love those verses! While biking along I was also thinking of Habakkuk 2:14, and humming a song that uses those words.

      You sound super busy! I hope you are able to get some long rides in soon 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

