Why cycling is bad for socks.

Some people love socks. They carefully choose a pair of socks each morning to fit their outfit and mood. They wear exciting, colorful socks that are fun to slip into. At least I think there are people like that out there, but I don’t know for sure because I am not one of those people.

Each morning, I grab a pair of socks. If they match (or close to it), don’t have holes (that will be visible to others) and don’t stink, I shove them on my feet and then don’t think about them again for the rest of the day.

But starting several weeks ago, shoving socks onto my feet became a harder than normal task. I often wear knee-high socks (that only reach mid-calf, naturally) and they were rebelling against me as I tried to pull them up. As I have mentioned, I don’t think much about socks so I simply tugged harder and then went about my day.

Also starting several weeks ago, sometimes I would notice the hem of my sock biting into and rubbing against my leg as I walked. But as I have mentioned, I don’t think much about socks, so I would readjust them and go about my day.

Another funny thing started several weeks ago. When I peeled a pair of socks off of my legs at night I uncovered angry, red, slightly itchy lines where the sock had hugged my skin too tightly. Ouch! I believe I have already mentioned, I don’t think much about socks, so I would rub my calves a bit and get ready for bed.

I should have seen the signs. I should have put two and two together. I should have known!

But this morning in the bathroom as I was pulling on my biking clothes, everything finally came together as I happened to glance in the mirror. What I saw there made my jaw drop. My. Calves. Are. Huge. I guess biking over six hundred miles a month, for a few months causes certain muscles to go through growth spurts. Funny how that works.

DSC00730

I stopped to chat with this cow and naturally we both bragged about our calves.

Now I have a conundrum on my hands and I won’t sugar coat it for you, this is a tough one. I have to choose between buying new socks or cutting back on cycling. It is going to be a hard choice to make so I think I will go and make a “pros and cons” list to help me sort my options.

32 thoughts on “Why cycling is bad for socks.

  1. Yeah, how’s that pro and cons list coming for quitting cycling ’cause your socks don’t fit? That pro-quit side is going to be pretty short I’d bet.

    Just wait till you really slim down and your legs don’t. You have this idea in your head that all will be wonderful, your clothes will finally look awesome… Only to find that jeans are even harder to buy because the ones that fit over your quads and calf muscles don’t fit in the waist. That’s gonna be a list right there!

    Chuckle. First world problems. Great post.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This reminds me of when I first started commuting to work. After 2 months, I realized I had lost 10 pounds I didn’t know were “extra” and my butt got a lot firmer. I was like “Woah! When did THAT happen?” LOL
    FYI, there’s at least one company out there that makes jeans especially for cyclists to accommodate the small waist and huge legs. I can’t remember what it was called but if I find it, I will send you the link.

    Like

  3. Socks are not what you think. Did you know that Ancient Madmen make every sock in the world. They capture wood elves, enslave them, force them to work 20 hours a day in stinky sock factories, which makes them nasty and horrible elves. Then force them to sprinkle their elf evil magic dust into every sock, which gives you the red marks. They lose their elasticity, are impossible to match and make you think you have giant cow calves. Don’t ask me how I know this…you already know.

    Like

    • Oh my! So it is all a conspiracy to amp up the sock market? Using slave labor?

      You know, I was willing to give you Ancient Madmen the benefit of the doubt. I was willing to believe that although you threatened people with spears, you simply wanted to protect the land or something.

      But no, you are the bad guys! I won’t let you get away with this, you can be sure of that!

      Like

  4. Wear ankle socks and tattoo your calves 🙂 I’ve given up trying to find pants that fit. They are either too tight or too baggy. I’m most comfortable in bibs these days.

    Like

    • Tattoo my calves? I will have talk to my cow friend, I wonder if her calves have been tattooed (branding, I guess it is called for a cow’s calves).

      It is great to be a girl, I wear skirts most of the time I am off my bike and skirts are way easier to buy in the proper size than pants are!

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

