My dogs are going places!

I love living without a car. But my car free life doesn’t come without challenges, probably the single most annoying thing is that if I need to transport my dogs anywhere I have to depend on someone with a car to help me out.

But now everything has changed. Guess what came in the mail last week?

DSC00581

A little bike trailer.

My dogs have got themselves a brand new ride and so far they seem to love it. They are excited to hop in when I tell them to and once we are out on the road they are very calm and either look out the side or lie down. But as soon as we stop, they want to get out right away, whining and acting like they are going to die if I don’t help them out immediately. Then they act like they haven’t seen me for decades.

DSC00580

What do you think of your new ride, Shammah?

The trailer weighs twenty-two pounds by itself and Panzy and Shammah weigh a total of thirty pounds, if I bring along a few more items I am easily pulling an extra sixty pounds. But I was surprised at how easy it is to maneuver the little beast and on flat stretches and going downhill it feels great. Pulling the thing uphill though? I can feel each and every one of the those sixty pounds, which is why the granny gear was invented I suppose. It is like weight training for my legs.

Pulling my dogs is only one function of my trailer’s new life in Northern New York. Yesterday I stuffed it full of helium balloons to bring to my church. Biking with helium balloons is an exciting but weird experience, I could barely keep the bike tires from floating off the pavement. I can say one thing, it sure made pedaling easier! (Maybe the effect was all in my head though, since I was only carting around six balloons.)

Welcome to the family, little trailer, I hope you are ready to work hard!

35 thoughts on “My dogs are going places!

  1. Awesome! A trailer is definitely on my “want” list for grocery runs, curb finds, and general hauling (maybe even a dog someday!). I’ll probably need a bike with gears first though, because I can’t imagine towing 60+ pounds uphill on my fixed gear. Congrats on the new goodie!

    Like

    • Thanks Chris! I have been wanting one for a while but I am a procrastinator when it comes to buying stuff-I am so glad I finally went ahead and got it.

      Yeah, I would be walking up hills if I had a fixed gear bike…on the other hand if you get a trailer and can pull it up hills you are going to have the strongest legs the world has ever seen 🙂

      Like

  2. Nice trailer. I love it. I just watched a movie trailer (speaking of trailers) that reminded me of you. A girl and a bike.

    Like

  3. Trailers ROCK! I remember when my kids were little, I would tow them around in it. They loved it. It’s a heckuva workout too… Especially the hills. Have fun.

    Like

      • I have looked into them. But here there is no were to use them. We don’t have cycle lanes we have to use roads and sadly it’s far to dangerous I would have to drive a few miles to find Somewere safe to use it. 😦

        Like

      • Well hopefully when I can sort out owning a home the main thing I will be looking at is living near at trails. Here is one about 3 miles away that’s a decent 10 miles round trip of flat non car used land. So I may still invest but take the car. As much as I don’t want to use the car if it’s the only way!

        Would have to find one big enough to fit my Logan in though he’s 35 kg… :/

        Like

      • Hahaha, I’ve worried that we overload it. It’s only meant for two toddlers so maybe 60-70 pounds?? I’m pretty sure that trip was a full grocery cart worth, way over the recommended weight limit I’m sure.

        Like

      • I think it might be 80 lbs (I compared different brands before settling on this trailer). In that case load away!
        It is so revolutionary for me, I can go to the grocery store and buy whatever I want without worrying about whether I have the space to stuff it in my panniers 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

