A New Definition of Fun

DSC00070

Soft sand handles similarly to powdery snow. Cool beans.

I spent my morning gallivanting about the countryside. At one point my journey had an actual destination but I got sidetracked along the way.

I found a sandy trail to bike on, which then turned into a weird form of downhill cyclocross through the woods. Once my bike and I made it safely down the hill, we came across a trail of ice. Nice.

DSC00072

I don’t think this was ever intended to be a trail of any sort.

It was great to be out in the backwoods of my county, exploring to my heart’s content. There were whitetail deer calmly grazing, American kestrels looking for prey and turkey vultures feasting on some dead animal. Racing down twisting country lanes, with no idea what will be around the next corner, that is where it’s at. (I use the term “racing” very loosely, of course.) DSC00082DSC00080

39 miles of fun.
And just as I got back into town, sleet/snow started to fall. What can I say? I have good timing!

After my ride I was out walking my dogs and it struck me how much my definition of “fun” has expanded.

Fun used to mean watching a movie, reading a book, cooking food and hanging out with my friends and family. Those things are still fun.

But now fun also includes spending hours on the saddle in below freezing temperatures.

9 thoughts on “A New Definition of Fun

    • Me too! I can’t believe that I ever thought that watching people do stuff on a little screen was more fun than going out and doing things myself.

      As for cooking, I still am very good at eating what I cook. (I tell myself that it is called taste-testing.) But at least I burn off all the calories 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I can’t believe how much snow and ice you still have. Also, playing outside on my bike is some of the most fun a girl can have. I’m so glad you discovered it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

