Corncob Trail

Yesterday on my ride home I noticed that the snowmobile trail which intersects the road I was biking on had thawed and turned very muddy. That got the wheels in my mind turning. Mud would make the trail impassable for snowmobiles, the obvious conclusion being that it was time to turn the trail into a designated bicycle path.

003

My lens got a bit of mud on it, oops.

So today I veered off the shoulder of the road and into the mud.011It is always fun to get off the road and head for the hills.
023But when I crested the hill and went around a bend the mud was replaced by a layer of corn stalks, husks and cobs. I had never biked over corn paraphernalia before and  quickly discovered that it is super bumpy. More like jarring.  I began to follow this trail of corncobs and was led into an open field where the wind had blown powdery snow into the ruts of the trail.

016

Ruts filled with glorious powdery snow.

All I can say is, my bike handling skills have really improved over the winter. Even though I was biking through snow over a bumpy surface that I couldn’t see or predict, I was able to stay upright.
018

028I crossed the field successfully and then began to traverse a section of hardened snow. While crossing a small stream that was underneath a thick cover of snow, one of my legs plunged into the snow and my boot got stuck.
033
After making it over the stream I was able to bike on top of the snow. But every little while the rear tire would sink deep into snow and need to be rescued. Then me and my bike came to a barbed wire fence. The trick was that the fence was hidden under the snow where we crossing. I got off the bike to walk over the fence, knowing that if I was super unlucky my leg could plunge into soft snow right where the barbs would scratch it. But today wasn’t my super unlucky day and the snow held until we made it over the fence.

030

You can see part of the fence here, a few posts are barely sticking out over the top of the snow before the whole thing disappears under the snow.

A few hundred yards of hardened snow later, we came into the fairgrounds and headed home. Can’t wait for Monday.

20 thoughts on “Corncob Trail

  1. I wouldn’t have wanted to cycle over that mess of corn cobs, husks, etc. whatever. Kudos to you.

    We’ve had a very warm winter for past month here in Alberta.

    Like

  2. I can’t believe how much snow you still have left! Ours has been gone and we’re starting to see green. We have buds on our maple tree out front and a couple of small crocuses blooming in our front yard.

    Like

    • Because I have spent time outdoors all winter, the past few weeks have felt SO spring-like to me. But then I look around at all the snow with the realization that spring is just barely starting. Already I feel so energized by the warmth, what am I gonna do when the grass is actually green? That’s when I will need a therapist. Or maybe everyone who has to be around me will need one…

      Liked by 1 person

    • Sometimes I imagine telling my 20 year old self what my 23 year old self is currently up too and the conversation ends quickly when my 20 year old self dies in shock.
      Embracing my adventurous side is one of the best decisions I have made in my life.

      Liked by 2 people

      • This afternoon I met a young woman (35). She has a PhD in urban studies and worked in academia at one of the local universities. 2 years ago she tired of it and wanted something more. She biked around the world solo on 5 continents. She wished she had done it sooner. You are on the right path.

        Like

      • Wow, that is incredible and inspiring.

        I have been reading Mark Beaumont’s book about cycling solo around the world and while it is a great book and I feel inspired by his journey, I did feel a little distanced from his story because he is a male and some of the conditions he described seemed super dangerous for a woman traveling solo. Knowing that there are women out there touring the world solo is very, very cool.

        Like

Leave a Reply

