Errandonnee Day One

Today is the start of the Errandonee which will continue for the next twelve days. A huge thank you to MG for turning normal errands into a fun event!

I headed out the door at 8:45ish ready to conquer some errands. The sky was clear and the temperature was 6F. First, I headed off to the ice skating rink. Biking seems like the perfect mode of transportation to the local rink. But it is not. It actually creates a moral dilemma that I have to overcome every single time I bike over to the fairgrounds.

My bike is outfitted with a perfectly capable set of studded tires and each time I bike over to skate, the itch to test those tires on a huge, solid, gorgeous sheet of ice gets stronger. It is overwhelmingly tempting to just sneak my bike on the ice and try my skills out on a few figure eights.

But being the conscientious person that I occasionally am, I laced up my skates instead. After a good skating workout, ( a workout mostly for my ankles who think they have the right to complain after being stuffed into confining figure skates) I got back on my bike, did my best to plow through a few snowmobile trails around the fairgrounds and then headed to the bank.
017

011

When I got to the bank, one section of the parking lot was covered in ice. To make up for denying my bike an experience on the ice at the fairgrounds, I steered over to the sheet of ice. My bike is great on ice. On my own, I am not so great, however, so I shuffled carefully to the entrance of the bank.

Handy tip when combining winter biking and banking-take your balaclava off as soon as you dismount your bike.

020

Banking done, I pedaled up the hill to the store which is the pride of all America – Walmart. When I go to Walmart I always park as far away from the store as I can. I don’t really know why this habit persists but I just go along with it. I mostly needed to stock up on veggies but then I decided to try something bold. Okay, attempting the safe transportation of eighteen eggs on the back of a bicycle isn’t really that bold, but I have never tried it before. In the name of science, I decided to forgo any type of cushioning for the eggs. I just filled up my panniers with the rest of the groceries and then placed the carton of eggs on top sealed tightly in a plastic bag so that the creation of any egg mess would be contained.

I arrived back at my apartment (after forgetting several times that I was carrying eggs and biking over some decent-sized bumps) and to my surprise all the eggs are intact! Nice.

022 026

Errand #1
Ice Skating (Personal Care)
Distance: 1 mile

Errand #2
Bank (Personal Business)
Distance: 2 miles

Errand #3
Supermarket, carried eggs home (You carried WHAT on your bike?!)
Distance: 3 miles

13 thoughts on “Errandonnee Day One

  1. You break me up. Wearing a balaclava into a bank is never a good idea. I ride my bike most days so this is not much of a challenge for me. I didn’t realize you are also a figure skater.

    Like

    • I wouldn’t call myself a figure skater, I have always been extremely cautious of falling, so during my formative years on ice I just learned the basics of skating but I never challenged myself to go beyond that.

      I can skate fast though because I had to keep up with my brothers. There is no way a girl will let her younger brothers beat her, if at all possible!

      Like

  2. I skated and played competitive hockey until I was 18 and my “cousin” was an olympic and world level figure skater. So, I grew up in rinks. Today, I can barely skate. The worst part is I can’t stop.

    Like

    • That’s awesome, I enjoy watching figure skaters, their grace and skill is stunning.

      Yeah, stopping is slightly important. It is always interesting to see people stop themselves by slamming into the wall, purposely falling down or better yet…grabbing a friend and causing the collapse of multiple people.

      Like

  3. To this day, I enjoy watching figure skating. My cousin was Olympic and World Champion (years ago) and I still remember those performances. They bring tears to my eyes. Even today, I am known to get wet-eyed watching competitions.

    That’s my problem stopping. I need a girl friend to grab. Haha …

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I am finding that out! Next time I won’t worry about bumps much at all 🙂

      And if you have never had to buy something from Walmart, you are winning at life!

      Like

  4. Rusty pink Diamondback! I’ll guess it is from somewhere mid nineties? 🙂
    Good job with eggs!
    I normally transport them in my backpack with other groceries and never had a smashed egg 😀

    Like

    • I have no idea if she is from the mid nineties, all I know is that she doesn’t like the cold! Poor thing, she was actually in decent condition before this winter.

      Like

  5. Woo, Errandonee! And congrats on the egg-haul. The plastic bag is way better spill protection than my typical “if I just think about the eggs being comfy and safe the whole ride, they totally will be”. Keep it up!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

