Not Snowshoes

As a total winter biking newbie, I learn new things constantly. Today was a day of discovery.

A while back I found out that biking on trails covered with fresh snow up to ten inches was hard but crazy fun. Unfortunately, soon after my discovery winter decided to intervene and cut my fun short by dumping a few feet of snow into the mix.

But this morning the sun was out and I headed to the local fairgrounds to do some experimenting. I thought that it was possible that the slight thaws we have experienced the past few weeks might create a stable base to ride on.

Yeah, no. You know that when your bike is stuck far enough in the snow so that you can sit on it safely without moving that you will not be going far. I had a blast though. There was a trail that was groomed for snowmobiles and walkers that was hard packed enough to ride on. So I did bike on that path and tried to use it as a launching pad to gain enough momentum to transition to the surrounding snow.

file0002024082135

Surprise! My bike does not look like this.

The result was comical. My front wheel would promptly sink and become immobile and the remaining momentum would cause the back wheel to buck into the air like an angry horse. Thankfully, the fairground was deserted.

My bike is awesome in snow. It is not fazed by slush or ice. But it is not a pair of snowshoes.

4 thoughts on “Not Snowshoes

    • I’m jealous of anyone who has tried out a fattie, I have never even seen one “in real life” 😦

      I am thinking about getting a road bike for spring so I don’t want to spend money for another winter bike while mine is perfectly functional for roads, but maybe in a few years…

      Liked by 2 people

    • Bummer, I kinda figured that would be the case but it would be sweet to have a magical bike that could float on top of any kind of snow.

      I guess I will stick with snowshoes when traveling in several feet of snow.

      Like

Leave a Reply

