Saturday Commute

Hanging out with my family tonight. All us kids are tired, sleep deprived and slightly grumpy. My mom and I made an apple crisp and when my mom suggested that we have chocolate ice cream with it we all instantly snapped at her, “Chocolate!?!” No way can you eat apple crisp with chocolate ice cream, it has to be vanilla, always.

After having apple crisp with vanilla ice cream (my mom had chocolate anyways because she is a rebel) we watched Mom’s Night Out together. My brothers both kept saying it was a dumb movie and though they threatened to leave, at the end of the movie we were all laughing.  Now I must go to bed because my brain feels like death.

To work (10 miles)
3:40 am to 4:45 am

Weather
18F, 5 mph South wind

I wore
Head: balaclava, rain jacket hood
Torso: thermal shirt, rain jacket
Hands: two pairs knit gloves
Legs: yoga pants, rain pants
Feet: socks, boots
Comments: I didn’t tighten my bootlaces very well and apparently that makes my feet cold. Good to know.

From work (10 miles)
3:10 pm to 4:10 pm

Weather
27F, 10 mph West wind

I wore
Head: headband, rain jacket hood
Torso: thermal shirt, rain jacket
Hands: knit gloves
Legs: yoga pants, rain pants
Feet: socks, boots
Comments: Great.

6 thoughts on “Saturday Commute

  1. I’m ready for warmer weather, as I’m sure you are too. Winter riding “builds character” as I tell my kids. Need to subscribe to that theory more. 🙂 Can be tough to mount up on cold days.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I will be happy for spring when it comes for sure, but I have always loved winter, cold, snow and ice. Maybe it is just because this is my first year biking in the snow, but this winter is flying by for me and I am truly having a blast.

    Although it will be so nice to not have to wake up so early, in the summer I got up at 3:25ish but right now due to uncertainty in road conditions and all the time it takes me to get my gear on I wake up between 2:30 and 3:00 am.

    Like

Leave a Reply

