Friday Commute

At work today I found out that my coworker was talking about my crazy biking habits at the tax office. This isn’t the first time that I have realized I have become a topic of conversation. It is great in a way, maybe it will inspire some more people to get out on their bikes. On the other hand, I have heard my feats exaggerated on two occasions.

One guy was under the impression that I biked fourteen miles to work. Someone else, who I don’t think even knew about my ride in -17, confidently told another lady, “Yeah she bikes in anything, even at -20.” And those are the enhancements I have heard, there may be more that I haven’t caught wind of yet.

My ride home was uneventful until I came into town. I spotted thin tire tracks in the snow beside the road. Instantly I thought they were bike tires, then I saw horse manure and realized the tracks were made by an Amish horse and buggy. Bummer!

But when I was almost home I was shocked to someone riding a bicycle on the sidewalk! First biker I have seen this winter in my county. I would have stopped to chat but it was a boy around the age of ten, so not wanting to be a weird stranger, I settled for a smile and wave which he returned.

To work (10 miles)
3:45 am to 4:55 am

Weather
16F, 5 mph South wind, snow

I wore
Head: balaclava, ski goggles
Torso: two thermal shirts, rain jacket
Hands: winter gloves
Legs: yoga pants, thermal pants, rain pants
Feet: socks, boots
Comments: Nice.

From work (10 miles)
3:50 pm to 4:55 pm

Weather
26F, 14 mph Southwest wind

I wore
Head: headband, scarf, rain jacket hood
Torso: thermal shirt, rain jacket
Hands: knit gloves
Legs: yoga pant, rain pants
Feet: socks, boots
Comments: At first I left my face uncovered but with the wind I needed the scarf to cover up my neck.

7 thoughts on “Friday Commute

  1. When people are talking about you–even if they use words like “she’s crazy. She’ll bike in anything”–really, they are probably in awe of you. If they actually thought you were nuts, they would just shake their heads and stare at the ground….maybe inwardly chuckle.
    I hope you can find some winter riders–maybe you could start a club.

    Like

    • Thanks Anthony!

      Yeah, I would love to start a winter biking group, but whenever I ask people to bike with me, they always turn me down 😦

      But the good thing is that when they turn me down they also promise to bike with me in the spring. What they probably don’t know is that I am keeping a list of everyone who has said they will ride with me and as soon as spring hits I am going to make sure they remember their promise.

      So even though I may bike alone for now, spring may bring me some company!

      Liked by 1 person

    • It isn’t too bad as long as I keep a regular sleeping schedule but when I stay up late on my days off it can really mess me up.

      Waking up at 8:00 am in the morning and then trying to go to bed that night at 6:30 does not make falling asleep easy!

      Like

  2. Know what you mean about being the “topic of work”. When I cycle to work suddenly the whole office is speaking about it as if its a big thing?! Then I get offered lifts home by coworkers so I dont need to cycle – as apparently, it’s dangerous lol can be annoying but at least people care πŸ˜›
    I am also shocked at the time you leave for work and the time you arrive at work. Those times are crazy early – its like the middle of the night! Well done though, like your work commute posts πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

