Monday Commute

Three weeks of non routine sleeping has finally caught up to me. I didn’t sleep well last night and setting my alarm early to make sure I got to work on time despite the weather didn’t help my sleep depravation.

Let me explain the weather we have been experiencing the past few days.

Saturday morning: nice thick cover of snow, below freezing temperatures
Saturday night: strong winds, temperature rises, results in heavy rain
Sunday: above freezing, very strong winds, most of the snows melts
Sunday night/early Monday morning: temperature drops, decent snowfall
Monday: temperature continues to drop

Weather can have some serious mood swings, I’m telling ya!

So I set off this morning in the swirling snow. The roads were well plowed and other than a few white-outs the ride was uneventful. While the ride itself was uneventful, my mind was slightly off-kilter from lack of sleep. I kept thinking that I heard a snowplow coming up behind me and I would glance back…to see a completely deserted road.

But I kept coaching myself that I couldn’t become complacent (I used the example of the villagers in “Peter and the Wolf” to motivate myself) because the next time it would be an actual snowplow. The phantom snowplows continued to stalk me for the entire ride. (Can I get a restraining order against them?) Of course the only snowplows I ended up seeing were coming from the opposite direction.

The last two hours at work were a struggle, my eyelids kept asking pesky questions such as, “can we close now?” “what about now?” “who are you to tell us not to close?”. Thankfully I was able to get out of work right after three. Once on my bike I got my second wind, sadly, it turned out to be a mere cat’s paw. My solution to low energy? Low speed. I cheerfully, slowly trudged along, breathing in the brisk air.

A couple of guys in a pickup truck slowed down and the guy on the passenger side stuck his head out, “Are you alive?”. Now I realize that I was moving at the pace of something dying, but I thought it was obvious that I wasn’t dead quite yet. While I was still processing this he repeated, “Do you want a ride?” Ah ha! That makes more sense! After thanking them and declining the offer, I pedaled home.

To work (10 miles)
3:40 am to 4:35 am

Weather
25F, 24 mph West wind, 36 mph gusts, snowing

I wore
Head: balaclava, rain jacket hood, ski goggles
Torso: thermal undershirt, rain jacket
Hands: two pairs knit gloves
Legs: yoga pants, rain pants
Feet: three pairs of socks, sneakers
Comments: My boots were still slightly damp from Saturday’s escapade, so I wore my sneakers and as many thick socks as I could manage. My feet stayed warm, yay.

From work (10 miles)
3:10pm to 4:25pm

Weather
10F, 8 mph Northwest, 17 mph gusts

I wore
Head: balaclava, rain jacket hood, ski goggles
Torso: thermal undershirt, rain jacket
Hands: winter gloves
Legs: yoga pants, thermal underpants, rain pants
Feet: two pairs of socks, boots
Comments: My face felt cold when there were gusts of wind but I was good other than that.

7 thoughts on “Monday Commute

    • I went to bed around eight and slept a solid 10 hours, had lots of dreams, (mostly about forgetting to do something important that I am supposed to do today) but snore? If you hear any snoring coming out of my bedroom it is definitely my dogs, not me, I am innocent!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Dear God, cycling in that sort of snow. I’d have caught the bus! I’m assuming that you have snow tyres on your bike.
    I don’t actually mind riding in the snow, it’s the black ice that I can’t be dealing with 🙂

    Hope your wee dog is OK with her cut eye.
    Raffie

    Like

    • Thanks Raffie! She does seem to be squinting a bit less so that seems like a good sign.

      I am using hakkapeliitta w240 studded tires, they are beasts on ice, I don’t notice a difference in traction or control from riding on clear pavement. I am still learning how to handle my bike in deep snow though. I live in a rural area so there is no bus to catch, no taxi service either. Hey it keeps me on my bike so its all good! 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

