Monday Commute

We got a little snowfall overnight and the temperature has started dropping again so it almost feels like we are back to winter.

There are many health benefits to winter biking but I have discovered a health hazard as well. The main road I bike on gets salted to death and on dry days like this afternoon every time a car passed me a chalky, salty dust came into my nose and mouth. I am guessing that is not super healthy. Oh well, I suppose toxins are just a part of life….or I could buy a gas mask.

To work (10 miles)
3:50 am to 4:45 am

Weather 29F, 8 mph West wind

I wore
Head: balaclava, rain jacket hood
Torso: thermal undershirt, rain jacket
Hands: two pairs knit gloves
Legs: yoga pants, rain pants
Feet: two pair of socks, sneakers

Comments:  I couldn’t find my boots this morning (I think I left them at my parent’s house) so I just put on a thick pair of pink socks over my knee highs.

From work (10 miles)
4:00pm to 4:55pm

Weather 23F, 7 mph Northwest wind

I wore
Head: balaclava,  rain jacket hood
Torso: thermal undershirt, rain jacket
Hands: two pairs of knit gloves
Legs: yoga pants, rain pants
Feet: two pair of socks, sneakers

Comments: My torso overheated a bit so I unzipped my jacket partway.

4 thoughts on “Monday Commute

  1. 3:50am!!! OMG! I hate getting up for work at 6am, and even then I don’t leave the house until at least 7:30am. (I do have some 6:30am run sessions, but at least I know that I can have a hot shower and breakfast after them before I cycle to work). I had to Google what 27F is in C (It’s -2… I don’t think I’m brave enough to cycle in weather that cold as there’s always black ice where I live). Well done 🙂

    Like

    • It really isn’t that bad, I go to bed between 7:00 and 7:30 pm before waking up that early. I probably actually sleep more than most people I just do it at odd times!

      I love your blog, you are super awesome.

      Like

Leave a Reply

