Monday Commute

I stayed an hour late at work today because we got rather busy in the afternoon. I didn’t realize what a wonderful blessing this was until I took to the road and noticed the sun setting in the horizon. I have never experienced sunset during my homebound commute before so it was a nice change of pace. While biking past a graveyard, I saw all the tombstones suddenly struck with a deep orange glow from the disappearing sun. It was tremendously beautiful. Is there some symbolic meaning behind that? A setting sun setting tombstones ablaze? I feel like there should be if there isn’t.

Because I had a long, busy day at work I countered that with a gentle bike ride home.

Until.

I was biking up a hill when I suddenly heard the sound of horseshoes on pavement. Turning to look behind me, I caught a glance of an Amish horse and buggy climbing up the hill behind me. Immediately my heart started to beat a little faster. You need to understand one thing. I own this road. This road is mine.

Belong

Since this is my road I have a sworn duty to not let any moving thing slower than a car pass me. As soon I heard the horse behind me my calm commute transformed into a race. Bike against buggy. My dignity, pride, honor and lots of other important things were at stake.

I was off like a rocket, daring the horse to try to overtake me. Poor equine, he didn’t have a chance, duh, this is my road. I pulled into my driveway, heart pounding, chest heaving, but proud of having asserted myself as master of my road.

To work (10 miles)
3:55 am to 4:55 am

Weather
20F, 9 mph Southeast wind

I wore
Head: rain jacket hood, balaclava
Torso: thin thermal undershirt, rain jacket
Hands: winter gloves
Legs: yoga pants, rain pants
Feet: socks, boots

Comments: Warmness

From work (10 miles)
4:10 pm to 5:05 pm

Weather
34F, 6 mph Southeast wind

I wore
Head: rain jacket hood, ear muffs
Torso: t-shirt, rain jacket
Hands: winter gloves
Legs: yoga pants, rain pants
Feet: socks, boots

Comments: I was quite overheated so I unzipped my jacket which helped a lot. I forgot to bring knit gloves with me, so I had to wear my winter gloves which made my hands sweat like crazy.

4 thoughts on “Monday Commute

    • I get ridiculously excited whenever I see a horse and buggy on the road. Yay, I am finally faster than something! I pass them all the time in the summer so there is no way I could let one beat me up the hill.

      Like

Leave a Reply

