Monday Commute

Before I climbed into bed last night I checked the weather for my morning ride and found that the forecast said there was a 2% chance of snow.

2% =100%

So I rode in falling snow. The wonderful thing about snow is it seems to calm to the world down, maybe even slow time. It was a calming, peaceful ride.

Yesterday at church three people came up to me and asked if I had been biking at certain place, at a certain time (I had been). All of these people knew that I was planning to attempt biking through the winter but now that they see me out and about in the snow I think it is starting to sink in. They may think I am a little crazy but all I know is that I am having the time of my life.

(Question: tomorrow the forecast says there is a 4% of snow at 4 am. If 2% = 100% does 4% = 200%….?)

To work (10 miles)
4:00 am to 4:50 am

Weather
32F, no wind, light snow

I wore
Head: ear muffs, rain jacket hood, ski goggles
Torso: thin thermal undershirt, rain jacket
Hands: knit gloves
Legs: yoga pants, rain pants
Feet: socks, boots
Comments: My face got really warm with the ski goggles on.

From work (10 miles)
3:40 pm to 4:35 pm

Weather
33F, 6 mph Southeast wind

I wore
Head: rain jacket hood, ear muffs
Torso: thin thermal undershirt, rain jacket
Hands: knit gloves
Legs: yoga pants, rain pants
Feet: socks, boots
Comments: A little warm.

5 thoughts on “Monday Commute

  1. A confession: I live in sunny southern California and we’ve been having a few rainy days (like real rain, but not snow the way the rest of the world does winter) and I cannot bring myself to bike in it. I’m not prepared! I’m a baby biker!

    What I’m trying to say is you impress me.

    Like

    • I cook at a restaurant, which is the perfect job for me because I love to cook. It does seem really early, but I have discovered the secret of getting up early….I go to bed early. Embarrassingly early actually, usually at 7:00 o’clock at night on the nights I work.

      During the summer there was one month where I went to bed every single night at 7:00 pm and got up every morning before 4:00 am, something I should do again because I did not feel tired at all that month.

      Like

      • Ahhh! I guessed a baker, so I was kinda close ;D Same general industry at least.

        My mum is also an early riser and has a similar schedule, she really enjoys it too – particularly seeing the sun come up and being out before everyone else.

        Well, as a naturally late riser, I tip my hat to you n_n

        Like

Leave a Reply

