A dead guy made me do it.

Why did I decide to bike in the winter?

I am not athletic.

I am not super fit.

I am overweight.

I am not fast.

It doesn’t really make sense that someone like me would try to conquer the elements. But here I am. A dead guy made me do it.

My parents homeschooled me, which means I got to do nerd-ish things. One of the nerd-ish things I did was to memorize the entirety of Patrick Henry’s “Give me liberty or give me death speech”. It is an epic speech. One sentence of his oration has stuck with me ever since.

“The battle, sir, is not to the strong alone; it is to the vigilant, the active, the brave.”

This is not just a true statement for battles, for wars. It is true in all of life. Strength and natural ability do not guarantee success. Nope.

The battle belongs to those who are aware and cautious.
The battle belongs to those who go out there and fight, the ones who lay their lives on the line.
The battle belongs to those who courageously move forward despite doubts.

Biking in the winter isn’t for athletes or superheroes. It is for those of us who actually do it.

5 thoughts on “A dead guy made me do it.

Leave a Reply

