Friday Commute

Winter has found its way back to the north country.

My bike ride to work was peaceful and stars were glittering all across the sky. I should have stopped to savor them, but I didn’t.

On the way home from work half of  the shoulder was covered in about an inch of snow and assorted clumps.  So most of the ride I rode on the clean pavement, but I also chose to ride in the snow some of the way. I want to be ready if I ever need to bike on an unplowed road.

To work (10 miles)
3:45 am to 4:35 am

Weather 19F, 3 mph West wind

I wore
Head: balaclava, ski goggles, rain jacket hood
Torso: thermal undershirt, rain jacket
Hands: winter gloves
Legs: yoga pants, rain pants
Feet: socks, boots

Comments: The pinkie finger on my left hand got really cold, so I put it in with my other finger to keep it warm. I need to buy new gloves or mittens like right now, because my current ones stink. The only problem is I don’t know which I should buy. Too many choices!

From work (10 miles)
11:20 am to 12:05 am

Weather 23F, 10 mph West wind, snowing

I wore
Head: balaclava, ski goggles, rain jacket hood
Torso: t-shirt, rain jacket
Hands: winter gloves
Legs: yoga pants, rain pants
Feet: socks, boots

Comments: I love biking in the falling snow. My head really overheated with the balaclava, but I wanted to test it out today.

Leave a Reply

