Friday Commute

If this post seems odd for some reason, I blame it on my downstairs neighbors who are currently gutting a deer directly below my window and making the strangest comments while doing so.

Today was my first commute to work in “real” winter weather. Last night in bed I kept almost falling asleep only to be woken up by thunder and lighting. I set my alarm for 2:22 am (an hour eariler than I usually wake up for work) in case it took me a long time to get to work due to heavy snow.

The few blocks I ride to get to the state road that takes me to work were badly plowed. I kept slipping and sliding around in the light powdery snow. It was kinda fun though, to be honest. Once I got to the state road it was smooth sailing, the road was alreadly clear so I didn’t need to worry about snow plows, thank goodness. Going downhill was still quite terrifing. My internal dialogue went thusly: “It’s gonna be okay, loosen your muscles, breathe, you are gonna make it…..” and I did. I arrived at work 40 minutes early. What can I say? I like being on time!

By the time I rode home in the afternoon the roads were nice and clear.

To work (10 miles)
3:10 am to 4:20 am

Weather
18F, 5 mph West wind, light snow off and on

I wore
Head: ear muffs, rain jacket hood, scarf, ski goggles
Torso: thin thermal undershirt, rain jacket
Hands: thinsulate gloves
Legs: yoga pants, rain pants
Feet: socks, boots

Comments: I stayed warm until partway through the ride my legs randomly got cold for a few minutes.

From work (10 miles)

Weather
23F, 8 mph West wind

I wore
Head: ear muffs, rain jacket hood, scarf
Torso: t-shirt, rain jacket
Hands: thinsulate gloves
Legs: yoga pants, rain pants
Feet: socks, boots

Comments: I have to get new gloves or mittens soon. My current ones make my hands sweat really badly.

Leave a Reply

