Saturday Commute

To work (10 miles)
8:50 am to 9:35 am

Weather
27F, 2 mph West wind

I wore
Head: headband, rain jacket hood, scarf
Torso: thin thermal undershirt, rain jacket
Hands: two pairs of knit gloves
Legs: yoga pants, rain pants
Feet: two pairs of socks, sneakers

Comments: Started out warm and got a bit over heated on the way.

From work (10 miles)
7:55 pm to 8:40 pm

Weather
32F, 7 mph Southwest wind

I wore
Head: rain jacket hood, headband, ski goggles, scarf
Torso: thin thermal undershirt, rain jacket
Hands: two pairs of knit gloves
Legs: yoga pants, rain pants
Feet: two pairs of socks, sneakers

Comments: Snow was gently falling for most of the ride, so beautiful. I got quite overheated though since I dressed for mid-twenties (which was the predicted temperature) and when I arrived home I realized it was actually 32F. Cars were definitely slowing down when they passed me, wondering what in the world a orange-goggled, blinking creature was doing out at night. It made me feel rather self-conscious but I suppose I just have to get used to the scrutiny.

2 thoughts on “Saturday Commute

  1. Winter biking commuting is nutty, hilarious, and a downright good time – once you get the feel of how to manage your bike in all the different kinds of snow and ice, it’s just maintaining the mental fortitude to make it happen. When I have moments of doubt (usually at 6am when it’s -10 out), I think about Mirjam and then I get over it – http://cyclingdutchgirl.com/2014/09/16/this-great-wide-yonder/

    Ride on!

    (My friend went to SUNY Oswego and claims that he got no less than 5 women’s phone numbers from helping them up after being blown over by wind … how feasible is this story??)

    Like

  2. Wow those pictures are amazing, I really want to see the northern lights someday…but I cannot imagine biking over lava rocks and rivers. I ride on paved roads for crying out loud.

    Is it seriously that windy in Owego? I live a couple of hours to the north but the wind isn’t normally very bad here. I can’t imagine getting blown over ever.

    Like

Leave a Reply

