First ride in the snow!

When I went outside to walk my dogs snow was covering the ground and the road was full of slush. Words cannot tell you how excited I was. I quickly changed into my biking gear and headed out to the local fairgrounds to gain some winter biking experience. Getting there was really scary. I avoided the frozen slush at the edge of the road and walked my bike across every intersection.

At the fairgrounds I started out slowly but quickly became more confident in the capability of my studded tires. One path was perfect for testing them out, it was covered in a thin sheet of ice. After not falling for awhile I decided to amp up my biking speed, and brake and turn more aggressively. I still did not slide or fall, maybe winter biking won’t kill me after all! (Silly friends and family.)

I finally took to the road to run some errands. One guy saw me getting off my bike and we chatted for a bit about biking, his family and local stuff. I think I will have to get used to winter biking being a conversation starter. I am quite the introvert, so maybe it will be good for me.

Weather
20F

I wore
Head: headband, rain jacket hood, ski goggles
Torso: t-shirt, rain jacket
Hands: pair of knit gloves
Legs: thin thermal underwear, rain pants
Feet: socks, sneakers

Comments: I got some snow in one of my sneakers, so my foot was a little cold part of the time. Other than that I felt just warm enough.

Leave a Reply

